Three Years Ago

I am NOT a mushy, romantic person, much to my very romantic husband’s dismay. I don’t remember much about my wedding day, because it all went by too fast and I was overwhelmed. (With love, really.) However, I do remember some of the silly things that happened and there are memories that were associated with music, so I’ll share some of that with you all today.

During our rehearsal, the one piece of advice the wedding planner at the church had for me was, “Don’t hold your flowers so high- you want everyone to see your face and dress.”

And this is what I did.

I obviously didn't listen.

I obviously didn’t listen.

When we lit the unity candle, I’m sure that when Ben leaned in, he wanted to say something profoundly romantic and sweet, but instead he said something like, “I really want to kiss you right now,” which we couldn’t do until after Kevin pronounced us as husband and wife. I distracted him by telling him how I had to pee right before the ceremony and how I made that happen in my fancy dress.

We probably high-fived after the ceremony, but I don’t remember that.

Everyone knows that you need a sweet song to walk into the reception hall, and this is what we chose:

 

This song started our dinner service:

 

I played this song TWICE because I didn’t get to dance to it the first time. (Or the second time, but I’m not bitter…)

 

We danced to this sappy number, and then broke out (immediately) into one of the best Outkast songs ever.

Mama Halliburton get in between the bride and groom when "Hey Ya!" came on. I love her!

Mama Halliburton get in between the bride and groom to dance when “Hey Ya!” came on. I love her!

 

There were, like, three people on the dance floor when this song played, but if I didn’t play it, it wouldn’t have been my wedding.  (WARNING: this is probably the worst song ever made, and the lyrics are filthy, but seriously, someone let them write and record it.)

 

We played this song as we successfully snuck out of the reception around 8:40… I was NOT going to get caught talking to everyone once the music ended.

 

And now for the best memory. This is the speech that our best friend Brian made as a toast. While Ben is my number one dude, Brian is a definite second.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment